Stylocycle’s Blog


Back in the Saddle
December 16, 2008, 10:58 pm
Filed under: commute by bike, helmets, winter riding

I rode to work today for the first time since my splat-on-the-ice. One of the things I realised while I was nursing my back is that the long-term effects of a serious injury when I was just 12 are exacerbated by too much lazing around. That is to say: my hips begin to ache when I’m not cycling regularly.

So… with a temperature of -9 and a wind chill of -14 this morning, I hopped on the Blue Beauty and rode in. It was lovely. Because I hate being cold, and because we are now in the bone-chillling kind of winter cold I do actually wear a helmet at this time of year. …But… I wear my ski helmet because it’s the warmest thing I have and it is designed to keep my goggles secure so I can ride without getting freezing wind-burn on my face, and don’t have to worry about having my vision obscurred by blowing snow(or rain, sleet, etc).

I’ve also decided that my favourite clothes to waer at this time of year are my long velvet skirts. I can put my fleece lined running-tights underneath to protect me from cold and wind, and wear my usual professional wear in to the office. I just take the tights off once I get there.

I have also discovered that although I don’t find my cute “People Have Spoken” boots (A Canadian footwear and clothing manufacturer) very comfortable for walking, they are perfect for winter cycling. They are warm, the flat rubber soles grip my pedals and the tarmac nicely, and because they do up at the back they protect my feet from wind and slush that can penetrate traditional closures.

I am never the one who arrives at work shivering from the cold.

I still made my usual time into work: 20 minutes. I’m not pedaling very fast, just at a nice comfortable speed that keeps the bike upright and smooth in the running. One of the things that I love about the Batavus design is that the enormous wheels mean fewer revolutions are required to cover distance — and that’s part of the secret to the ride reminiscent of my dad’s 1960’s convertible land-yacht.

On my ride home I was able to stop of at Spouse’s office on the *other* campus, share some latte time with him in the middle of the day, and deliver some good news about a successful grant application. Hooptee!

From there I made my way home, stopping briefly to take pictures of the rushing water in the creek that is splashing up on the red dogwood branches that overhang the water’s edge, making frozen waterfalls off that pull the branches even lower.

I’ll post photos later when my camera batteries have charged.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Congrats on the grant!

Do post some pictures of these excellent winter boots:)

S*

Comment by miss sarah




Leave a Reply

