Stylocycle’s Blog


Yay! Skiing!
December 31, 2008, 3:12 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We have made arrangements to be able to get-outta-town for 2 nights and 2 days up in our country retreat. I refer to it as ‘the shack in the woods’ — it isn’t truly a shack, but it’s a modest, incomplete cottage that my father started building in the early 1990’s and left unfinished when he died 9 years ago. Mountains of grad student debt and the long-haul to tenure have meant that I’ve not had the funds to complete the building (or to rescue the other one that he had buil, but not properly, and which collapsed after he died from damage secondary to a fire started by a bad tenant who voided the insurance policy with his bad habits). It’s a long story. Oy.

Anyway, the important thing is that someday in the not-ridiculously far-flung future, I hope to have the funds to finish the building, and to rebuild the other. Meanwhile, I hang-tight to the land, and make small improvements as I am able.  I dream of proper siding and window frames.

We don’t get up often in the winter because the little cabin does not have running water in winter. We are going to brave it this week though, and go up Our only neighbours will be up (with 19 staying at their place!), and we are always welcome to use their shower if we want. However, I think that what I’ll do is book us into the water spa for a session at the end of our downhill skiing day. I am also hopeful that we will get some x-country skiing in. So… the next images I post should be of winter wonderlands and happy me on skis.

Monday will find me back behind my desk and lecturn, so getting some exercise in before then is a welcome way to spend a retreat in the woods.

Have a happy New Year; I’ll see you in 2009.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

