Stylocycle’s Blog


Tumult
June 17, 2009, 3:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Let’s just say that parenting a sixteen year-old is more dificult than anything I have ever done in my life.

I have only ridden my bike once in the past week.  I’m not able to enjoy the good weather, and I feel that I’m a pretty wretched burden on my friends. I can’t stand to talk to my family who yap platitudes at me, and encouragements ‘not to worry about him’ just make me peevish.

My organic delivery box arrived this morning and all I could hear ringing in my ears was the various crap my son has spewed about our commitment to local and organic foods.

Food resembles sawdust, and I can’t differentiate one flavour from another.

So… I have no lovey pictures, and little to say.

I hope that things will improve, and I’ll try to get out there on the bike if only because the sound of the wheels spinning over the ground beneath me provides a kind of rhythmic comfort.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You have my full sympathy, as the mother of a 18 year old and a 15 year old I am in the full transition between when they were lovely cuddly small people to large ones with attitude and free speech!
I just cling to the fact that I know I wasn’t a barrel of laughs at that age and yet I am still on speaking terms with my parents some 30 years later!
Keep pedaling if only for your sanity and to build up the muscles to escape!

Comment by Sara Naylor-Wild

Oh my. And here I’ve been wondering if parenting a four year old was the hardest thing ever. Eek!

Comment by Carrie

I don’t have kids and don’t plan to but I really have admiration for people who take on that challenge. I don’t know how my parents survived me. I was a good kid but insecure and struggling to figure out who I was and what I wanted. Good luck to you and your son.

Comment by Karen




Leave a Reply

