Stylocycle’s Blog


Riding Study Participation: complete
May 5, 2010, 9:16 pm
Filed under: around town

We have been very lucky weather-wise around here of late. I’ve had no storms to impede my desire to go one place or another, even though we have had some good rains! Indeed, the fresh smell of grass and rain is wafting through my window as I write this post.

The amenable weather meant that I was out on my bike, running errands, visiting friends, going to and from work on pretty much every day of the week-and-a-half study with the GPS units.

Of course, there were no snow banks for me to tag as problematic, but when asked to really pay attention to the surfaces on which I ride, I came to a kind of meta-cognition point about curb heights, access-hole covers, one-way streets, and pot-holes, nasty parking habits on our streets, and so forth. I’m hoping that once all the data are in that we’ll see some significant changes in the flow of our traffic (generally) and of bicycle traffic in particular. There are so many areas where we need better use of available space, often where multi-use trails would be far superior that currently unused sidewalks etc. I’d like to see bike lanes on some of the quieter more picturesque streets with low automobile traffic. Often such streets are one-way only but are sufficiently wide enough to handle a two-way bike lane. Such streets are rarely used by cars and round-abouts would solve any intersection concerns for where these streets cross others that are currently two-way.

Anyway, I guess we’ll just have to wait to see what comes of it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

